This article provides a quick overview of order terms related to shipping, profit, and types of transactions. To learn more about orders in Legacy OASIS, click here.
Shipping Information/Date Terms
To learn more about the shipping toolbar in orders, click here.
To learn more about unacknowledged, unscheduled, and unshipped orders, click here.
The agent's best guess on when the product or order might ship based on the order lead times or the manufacturer shipping program configured in the manufacturer entry. This can be manually overridden.
Agency Calculated Date (ACD)
ACD, or Agency Calculated Date, is a new term for Estimated Date. The term ACD appears in place of EST (estimated) on order status prints. For information regarding PAT ACD, click here.
The manufacturer's best guess on when the product or order might ship. This is manually entered.
The actual date the order or product shipped (when the carrier receives the product for shipping). This is manually entered.
Prediction Analysis Tool (PAT)
PAT, or the Prediction Analysis Tool, is a dynamic tool created with machine learning technology that can assist OASIS users by providing lead times and agency calculated dates. To learn more about what PAT analyzes and how it can be used in orders, click here.
The quoted estimate, usually in weeks, as to when a new order might ship. This is manually entered.
This is money paid by a manufacturer as a percentage of the net price. Net price is defined as the price of the product that does not include any overage. For example, if the net price for a product is $100.00, and the commission is 5%, then the commission (in dollars) would be $5.00.
This is money paid by a manufacturer as a split of the difference between the net price of a product and the actual sales price. OASIS identifies the percentage paid by the manufacturer. For example, assume the manufacturer identifies the "overageable price" of an item to be $100.00 with a commission rate of 5%. If the product is sold for $150.00 with an overage policy of 75%, then the commission is 5%, the total overage is $50.00, and the overage paid is $37.50 for a total amount paid by the manufacturer to be $42.50.
When buying and selling products, the difference between the sell price and the buy price is the margin. This is also called "profit." For example, if the sell price is $50.00 and the buy price is $45.00, then the margin is $5.00.
When importing, the exchange rate, tariffs, shipping, and other costs must be accounted for. The net result is that a product that costs $1.00 in the US may cost $1.40 in Canada. This would be a landing factor of 1.4. Each manufacturer is assigned a currency and an import factor. The import factor should not account for exchange rates. OASIS will calculate the load factor from the import factor and the current exchange rate.
Types of Transactions
Sell Order (Customer PO)
This is a customer order where the user is selling goods from one or more manufacturers. The goods are first purchased through a vendor PO. The user will bill the customer. All sell orders are in the currency of the customer. Note: this order has a red screen.
This is a PO where material is purchased for later resell. Vendor POs are available in three forms: "buy order," "inventory stock order," and a "combined buy order" for multiple customers. The manufacturer will bill the user. All vendor POs are in the currency of the manufacturer. Note: this order has a green screen.
Commissioned Orders (Customer PO)
This is a customer order entered with the manufacturer on behalf of the customer. The manufacturer will bill the named customer. All commissioned orders are in the currency of the manufacturer. Note: this order has a grey screen.
Project or Quote
A quote is typically used to convert to an order. Once converted, order entry "change orders" must be initiated from the quote OR the order. It is recommended that users decide whether change orders must be quoted first. If so, change orders from the quote are recommended. In all other cases, change orders using the OASIS order entry system should be used.
This is an invoice created by the user and sent to the customer. Only ONE OASIS PO may be billed at a time. A statement may be used to show the amount owed on multiple PO's.