Every five minutes, OASIS saves a copy of the quote bill of material to the local computer hard drive. This allows OASIS to recover from a local system failure or network failure. When OASIS is restarted and the quote is reopened, the system will ask if users would like to recover from the saved quote. Note: users MUST hit the save button within the quote in order to activate this feature.
This documentation assumes that users have experienced a local system or network failure and have restarted OASIS.
1. Navigate to the "Quotes" page.
2. Reopen the needed quote.
3. The "Auto Save for Quote" window will appear, listing the different saved versions that are available.
4. Located the needed version. Note: the oldest versions will appear first.
- Entry 1- the oldest entry, saved about ten minutes ago.
- Entry 2- the last entry before the PC lost power.
- Entry 3- the quote as it is stored on the server right now.
5. Select "View" to load the quote editor with the contents of that entry.
6. The entry of the quote will appear.
7. Save the quote.
8. The "Auto Save for Quote" window will show until "Close" is selected. Note: ensure you have saved the needed version of the quote before completing this process.
9. Once "Close" is selected, the "Question" window will appear, asking if the local copies of the quote should be deleted. Note: the last version saved from the quote will be stored on the server and only the local copy of the quote will be removed.
10. Select "Yes" to keep the saved entries after the quote window is manually closed. Note: do not rely on this method to keep old copies of the quote. This system was designed to recover from software and hardware failures, not to save old copies of the quote. If users need to store old revisions of quotes, use the "checkpoint" feature. For more information, click here.
If network failure has damaged OASIS, leave OASIS running and start another OASIS session. When opening the quote in the new session, the saved quote will be available in the new session. Note: OASIS deletes the saved files when the quote window closes-- whether using "Save and Close" or "Close."