In Legacy OASIS, users are locked out of a transaction anytime another user has the transaction open. This prevents the "last save wins" scenario, where multiple copies of the transaction exist and the last one to be saved is what commits to the database. In O4, however, multiple users will be allowed to edit a transaction at the same time without having to worry about the "last save wins" scenario. This article will explain how to identify if another user is within the transaction and which cells they are currently editing.
If another user is in an O4 transaction, a bubble with their initials will appear in the top left corner of the screen. These initials will pull from the "Initials" field in the user's editor, or, if that field is blank, it will pull from the first and last name fields in the user editor. For more information about the user editor, click here.
In the image below, the letters “KW” is shown in a blue bubble. The bubble color is selected automatically when the transaction is updated. The user bubble will remain as long as the user has the transaction open, whether they are active in the transaction or not. An example of someone not being active in a transaction is if they switch to another browser tab.
Users that are actively making edits in the transaction will cause the cell that they are editing to be highlighted in the same color of their user bubble.
In the example below, user KW has a blue user bubble and is updating line 2 of the project with the catalog number of “NEW MATERIAL”, making that cell highlight blue. This highlight will be removed as the user updates the project.